17
Apr
10

EPJ Final Project Update

So this is ridiculously overdue but here it is.

I had several things fall through on me since my first proposal at the beginning of the semester. I am now focusing my project on Crystal City, MO and the ongoing story between a proposed iron smelter and the development of a massive underground recreational facility in a former sand mine.

This is obviously too large a project to finish in this semester for EPJ but I will bite off two parts as Dr. Greenwood suggested. I will be building on some of the work I did last semester for MPW and building a history of the area slide show (or possibly interactive map). And I will be focusing on the former mine that the owner is trying to develop into this recreational center.

Not too much happens in the mine at this point, a little construction and minimal use by various community organizations. However, on the Saturday before Easter the owner opened it up for a day long open house. Of course there were Easter egg hunts, but also an air soft tournament (similar to paintball but with little plastic beads), and a bunch of other activities. I also got an on-camera interview with the owner that day.

Here are a few photos from one of the egg hunts. The kids turned in the plastic eggs for prizes at the end.


0 Responses to “EPJ Final Project Update”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other subscribers